Home Archived Articles Leadership Maryland Presents Class of ’17

Leadership Maryland Presents Class of ’17


Leadership Maryland’s (LMD) 25th class, the Class of 2017, has been announced. During the next eight months, the 52-member group will complete a hands-on learning program focused on the state’s most vital social, economic and environmental issues.

Following a two-day opening retreat in April, the class will attend five two-day intense sessions traversing the state focusing on Maryland’s economic development, education, health and human services, criminal justice, the environment and multi-culturalism/diversity. These sessions will be followed by a one-day closing retreat in November and a graduation celebration in December.

LMD is open to senior-level executives with significant achievements in their careers and/or their communities. Ideal members have a desire to learn more about Maryland’s most critical issues and a personal commitment to be a force for positive change in their organizations, their communities and the state.

LMD Class of 2017 Participants

Brandon Butler, Maryland Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation; Brenda Cachuela, Maryland Department of Transportation; Deborah “Debbie” Carpenter, Garrett County; Bernard “Andy” Cheezum, Jr.; Willow Construction; Michael “Mike” Cox, Jr., University of Maryland Fire and Rescue Institute; Gregan Crawford, Garrett County Community Action Committee; James Deriu, KCI Technologies; John Diehl, Southway Builders; John Dumas, Service Coordination; Diana Ellis, Humanim Inc.; Loren Farquhar, Anne Arundel Medical Center; Rebecca “Becky” Frank, Chase Brexton Health Care; Dustin Freas, Flagship Rehabilitation; John Genakos, MEDCO; Charles Glass, Maryland Department of Transportation; Rajiv “Raj” Goel, Offit Kurman; Heather Gramm, Frederick County Office of Economic Development; Amy  Gross, France-Merrick Foundation; Jennifer Hammaker, Maryland Technology Development Corp.; Brian Hammock, CSX Transportation; Husher Harris II, Avaris Concepts; Chris Hoyson, The Whiting-Turner Contracting Co.; Lucille “Lucie” Hughes, Chesapeake College; Mary Elizabeth “MaryBeth” Hyland, SparkVision; Mary Frances Isakov, M&T Bank; Martha Lessman Katz, Lessman Katz Law; Traci Kodeck, HealthCare Access Maryland; Jonathan “Jon” Kucskar, Maryland Public Service Commission; Shannon Landwehr, Economic Alliance of Greater Baltimore; Stephanie Lansey-Delgado, Baltimore City Police Department; Jennifer Litchman, University of Maryland Baltimore; Shelley Jarrad Lombardo, Evergreen Advisors; James Lunnermon II, University of Maryland Eastern Shore; Julie Madden, arts advocate; Shanak “Shan” Maitra, Artiam Solutions; Roy McGrath, State of Maryland; Meredith “Merry” Mears, Worcester County; Wanda Oneferu-Bey, CareFirst BlueCross BlueShield; Barbara “Julie” Paluda, Calvert County; Signe Pringle, Maryland Department of Commerce; John Renner, Jr., Cross Street Partners; James “Jimmy” Rhee, State of Maryland; Karyn Riley, Washington Suburban Sanitary Commission; John Rodenhausen, Chesapeake Bay Foundation; Christine Ross, Maryland Chamber of Commerce; Andrew Sargent, Maryland Department of Commerce; Deborah “Deb” Sharpless, Maryland Department of Transportation; Jody Sprinkle, State of Maryland; Joy Strand, McCready Health; Barbara Wagner, Frederick County Chamber of Commerce; Chad Ward, Railey Mountain Lake Vacations and Nico Washington, UMBC.